Now Open

April 24, 2010

We are now open at Echo Coffee. Our hours are 7am to 10pm. Our menu will fill out throughout this week, but expect fresh, organic pastries and great coffee until we introduce the lunch menu in the middle of the week.

For those that have visited us over the last 24 hours, thank you for your patience.


10 Responses to “Now Open”

  1. MARDI on April 24th, 2010 9:37 pm

    Welcome to south Scottsdale, so glad your here. Nice to see a business in that great building. We will be by often, nice walking distance for coffee in morning or lunch in the afternoon.

  2. Dru Bloomfield on April 25th, 2010 3:31 am


    Great to visit you on your first full day of business. Even better to see a line a customers waiting to order their coffee. I wish you much sucess and a whole lot of fun in your new endeavor.

    Oh, and great coffee too!

    PS Be sure to post when you have coffee by the bag for sale.

  3. Scott O'Connor on April 29th, 2010 8:46 am

    Steve, I saw your AZ Republic story today, discovering you rnew venture. Best of luck to you!

  4. JWWFITNESS on April 30th, 2010 9:18 am

    The best coffee ( Latte) i had in the last 2 Years !!! Great Store in our Neighborhood . Best of Luck to you guys !!!!

  5. Steve Belt on April 30th, 2010 10:32 pm

    Scott, it was awesome catching up with you briefly today.

    And JWW…you’re making me blush. We sincerely appreciate the feedback. I’m just trying to bring the coffee I enjoy to the community. Thus far, the reaction has been simply amazing. You have an awesome neighborhood here in South Scottsdale which has welcomed Echo Coffee even better than I had ever hoped, and for which I thank you and everyone around immensely.

  6. RachLeigh on May 2nd, 2010 11:35 pm

    DON’T GO!!!!!!!!!
    Went to shop for first time. Most awful experience I’ve ever had at a copy shop. Thought manager was very rude. Order 2 cappuccinos to go and took about 15min. After the cashier saw us waiting forever finally came over. Didn’t even know what we ordered and kept getting our order wrong. Our drinks were about half full (& tasted like crap). Asked for some more foam & told me no.

    This place will not even last a year. You should teach your manager/employee a lil’ thing called customer service.

  7. Steve Belt on May 3rd, 2010 8:55 am


    I’m sorry to hear you had an unpleasant experience at Echo Coffee. I don’t recall if you were here Saturday or Sunday morning, but I do recall your visit, and your unfortunate wait for 2 cappuccino’s to go.

    My coffee shop strives to balance a traditional espresso bar against the desires of the current coffee consumer. The two drinks on our menu that cause the greatest confusion are our cappuccino and macchiatto. As I noted in this post about cappuccino sizes our cappuccino only comes in one size: 6 ounces. The smallest paper cup I have in stock is a 10 ounce cup. Accordingly, a 6 ounce drink in a 10 ounce cup will not appear full.

    From your dislike of the drink, I gather you may have preferred a 12 ounce latte, perhaps with extra foam. I can certainly understand that if you were expecting a drink with significantly more milk in it, and were served a cappuccino that you would feel it tasted awful. It’s a failure on our part that we did not communicate well enough with you at the time you ordered to be sure you were getting what you wanted.

    I want to thank you for posting your experience, though. You’ve highlighted a significant area that we certainly need to improve on. My entire staff will be reminded again that one of our jobs is to maintain a dialogue with our customers — to inform and educate — so that confusion is always avoided. I think we do that well when we are less busy, but unfortunately you arrived at a busier time, and we executed very, very poorly. We simply must be better, or you are right, we won’t last.

    In summary, my apologies for executing so poorly. If you do decide to give us a second chance, I’ll be happy to buy your next drinks, made just the way you want.

  8. JWWFITNESS on May 3rd, 2010 9:34 am

    I do not know what this persons RACH LEIGH problem is. We go there every day since they have open and this is only a Week or so. Let me tell you the serve the best cappuccino and the best latte. Trust me i know what good coffee is .I grew up with coffee because we had a coffee shop in Europe for many years . People sometimes like to trash new Businesses down I do not understand. They are new in Business and not everything works on the first day. When you think there is something wrong you do not have to write mean comments. Ask for the manager or owner and bring it up. This must be a very unhappy and frustrated Person. This Coffee shop is great has nice people working there. I am sure this place will be there for a long time, but for sure when we have only frustrated people like this person no store in this neighborhood would survive.
    We love this coffeehouse!!!!!! and there latte and cappuccino !!!!! ( and Pastry lol )

  9. Kris Baxter-Ging on May 3rd, 2010 2:12 pm

    Steve – What a success! Congratulations on your new venture. You’re living the American Dream and creating a fabulous space for everyone to enjoy – and the cofee and pastries are pretty great, too.
    Best of luck!

  10. Erin on May 3rd, 2010 2:45 pm

    I think that your coffee and your food is great! So there!